What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Doc Editing

gmosley

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello.
iPad newbie here. I keep my documents, photos and music on a Windows 10 PC. I can "see" the PC from the iPad and use the Arcam app to access and play my music files. I can also see my MS Word Docs on the PC and wonder how I can get them to open in a Word type editor so that I can alter, add to or even create new documents that I can save back on the PC.
Anyone?
Thanks.
George

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
There are versions of Word, Excel, and Power Point for the iPad. That is the most 'Word type' editor you can get. :)

On the iPad Mini and 9.7 inch iPads you can unlock most features with a free Office 365 account. Sign up for it on the Microsoft site (somewhere, I forget, you'll have to dig around for it).

On the iPad Pro you need a paid account. You can subscribe in the app after you download it, or sign in with an existing Office 365 account.

I have the Personal account for $6.99 an month. If I remember right it allows me to install Office on one desktop/laptop, one tablet, and one smartphone; which is plenty for my needs. Though I haven't bothered to install it on my computer. it also comes with OneDrive (cloud storage), making it easy to keep documents synced betwen all devices and computers. You can also use third party cloud services like DropBox.

You can also get OneNote, OneDrive, and a few other Microsoft apps on the iPad.