What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Excel Spreadsheets

Peter R

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I've just purchased a Ipad air. My wife needs to read spreadsheets emailed to her and to return them with amended data. Is there a way I can do that on my Ipad s I did with our old laptop?

AdmiralAdama

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Near the Ionian Nebula, still searching for Earth
Unfortunately there is no Excel for iOS devices.
Apple's 'Numbers' is an app I'm familiar with. It's $10 in the Canadian App store.
You can use it to open excel files, read, edit (what's permitted) then send back as excel files.
There are other apps but I've had no experience with them.

AA

Sent from my iPad using iPF

OP
P

Peter R

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have Numbers. Excuse my ignorance but how do I get to import a spreadsheet from a email in my inbox,edit it and send it back to
sender. Thanks

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Numbers is probably not the best choice for this. Numbers can import and export to xls format, but it is a conversion that might cause problems (depending on the complexity of the spreadsheet).

There are other apps that do not convert, though they may have limited editing abilities they will not change the format of the spreadsheet. Some of the most popular are QuickOffice, Office HD Pro, and Documents to Go. I'm not sure which is considered the most capable at the moment. It's been more than a year since I've seen a detailed comparison of Office compatible apps.