What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Space Shuttle Landing

ipfuser55

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Just watched this, and whilst I am no rocket scientist, it's surely not supposed to have flames coming from the tail? NASA don't seem the least bit worried by this, but I've never seen it before. Could it be the dreaded heat shield issue again? Now where is our resident expert :)?

Sent from my iPad using iPF

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Beats me, though they do pick up a lot of heat on reentry. No telling what that might look like as it bleeds off. Even air is combustable if it's hot enough.

(not claiming expertise on space shuttles, though I did want to be an astronaut when I was a kid, and drew my own spaceships designs with everything but the engine, because I couldn't figure out how to draw an atomic rocket engine that would go faster than light, which explains why I'm not an astronaut) :D

OP
I

ipfuser55

iPF Noob
Reaction score
twerppoet said:
Beats me, though they do pick up a lot of heat on reentry. No telling what that might look like as it bleeds off. Even air is combustable if it's hot enough.

(not claiming expertise on space shuttles, though I did want to be an astronaut when I was a kid, and drew my own spaceships designs with everything but the engine, because I couldn't figure out how to draw an atomic rocket engine that would go faster than light, which explains why I'm not an astronaut) :D

:) it also explains why you couldn't draw the engine...It didn't exist then, and it doesn't now! A friend has suggested that they "vented" and ignited gas as a farewell to this craft! Dubious in my opinion, but there were no fire engines or anything.

firedog25

iPF Noob